New Ruins

We Make Our Own Bad Luck

Hidden Agenda Records

CD / AHA!092
UPC: 795306509226

'We Make Our Own Bad Luck' is the 2nd album from Illinois rock act New Ruins, the follow-up to their first release, 'The Sound They Make', from 2007. Droning acoustic/electric rock haunted by rural spectres, songs rendered in sepia-tone, but updated with DIY studio machinations. New Ruins is a band as comfortable in a stage-shaking three-guitar line-up as it is in a more intimate stripped-down acoustic setting.

Since their debut the original duo of songwriters J. Caleb Means and Elzie Sexton has expanded into a quintet, featuring bassist/multi-instrumentalist Paul Chastain (Velvet Crush, Matthew Sweet), drummer Roy Ewing (Braid, Very Secretary), and Andrew Davidson (Tractor Kings, Chemicals) on bass and auxiliary percussion.

All Music Guide: "Dark-hued pop music that strikes a balance between melody-driven pleasure and guitar-fueled malaise."

LP pressed on brick red vinyl, with poster insert, limited to 500 copies.

We Make Our Own Bad Luck
Product Type: CD
Product ID: AHA!092
Product UPC: 795306509226
Label Page: 90
Audio Player HTML:
Video Player HTML:
Twitter Feed Name: @newruins




Warning: mysqli_real_escape_string() expects parameter 1 to be mysqli, boolean given in /home2/gmerritt/public_html/ on line 226

Fatal error: Uncaught exception 'ADODB_Exception' with message 'mysqli error: [0: ] in EXECUTE("select * from Packages where pkgHandle = ''") ' in /home2/gmerritt/public_html/ Stack trace: #0 /home2/gmerritt/public_html/ adodb_throw('mysqli', 'EXECUTE', 0, NULL, 'select * from P...', false, Object(ADODB_mysqli)) #1 /home2/gmerritt/public_html/ ADOConnection->_Execute('select * from P...') #2 /home2/gmerritt/public_html/ ADOConnection->Execute('select * from P...', Array) #3 /home2/gmerritt/public_html/ ADOConnection in /home2/gmerritt/public_html/ on line 78